Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta kicks off this week with new content – everything you need to know

The Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta is nearly upon us, and we have all the details.

Ghost Recon Breakpoint‘s first public beta took place nearly two weeks ago, but this week, Ubisoft is hosting a new beta open to all players on PC, PS4 and Xbox One.

How to get into the Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta

The Ghost Recon Breakpoint beta scheduled for this weekend is open for everyone. You do not need a code, a pre-order or anything else to be able to play. Simply download and play it.

Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta schedule and start times

The Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta will be live Thursday, September 26 to Sunday, September 29. Read on below for the start and end times for the different platforms.

PC Uplay

  • Start: September 26 at 3am PT, 6am ET, 11am BST, 12pm CEST.
  • End: September 29 at 7am PT, 10am ET, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST.

PC Epic Games Store

  • Start: September 26 at 8am PT, 11am ET, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST.
  • End: End: September 29 at 7am PT, 10am ET, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST.

PS4

  • Start: September 26 at 3am PT, 6am ET, 11am BST, 12pm CEST.
  • End: September 29 at 7am PT, 10am ET, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST.

Xbox One

  • Start: September 26 at 3am PT, 6am ET, 11am BST, 12pm CEST.
  • End: September 29 at 7am PT, 10am ET, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST.

Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta pre-load

The Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta pre-load will be available at the same times above on Tuesday, September 24. You’ll be able to update your existing closed beta download when the pre-load goes live.

For everyone else, be prepared for a hefty download. We’re still waiting on the full download sizes, but here’s what they were for the closed beta: 32GB on PC, 27GB on PS4 and Xbox One.

In any case, the download is going to be large due to the amount of content in the open beta, which is further expanded from the closed beta (see below).

Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta content

You can expect a good chunk of content in the Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta. Everything can be played solo or with three other players in co-op. Six of Breakpoint’s map regions (Smuggler Coves, Mount Hodgson, Sinking Country, Fen Bog, New Argyll, Infinity) will be available to explore.

You’ll also have access to five story missions, various side missions, and 12 faction missions (two per region) that refresh every day of the beta.

Throughout the different regions, you’ll encounter three of the game’s big drone bosses at designated drone areas. This includes the Murmurs drone swarm, the Aamons land drone, and the big Behemoth tank. If you plan to visit any of these locations, expect a challenging fight.

The open beta also includes the Ghost War PvP mode. Four maps will be available to play Elimination on.

Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta PC specs

Ubisoft hasn’t revealed a specific set of PC requirements for the Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta, but the publisher did confirm the specs of the launch PC version.

Minimum – low setting (1080p)

  • OS: Windows 7/8.1/10
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 1200/Intel Core I5 4460
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • GPU: AMD Radeon R9 280X/Nvidia Geforce GTX 960 (4 GB)

Recommended – high setting (1080p)

  • OS: Windows 7/8.1/10
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600/Intel Core I7 6700K
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • GPU: AMD Radeon RX 480/Nvidia Geforce GTX 1060 (6 GB)

Ultra – ultra setting (1080p)

  • OS: Windows 10
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X/Intel Core I7 6700K
  • RAM: 16 GB
  • GPU: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT/Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080

Ultra 2K – ultra setting (1440p)

  • OS: Windows 10
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X/Intel Core I7 6700K
  • RAM: 16 GB
  • GPU: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT/Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080 Ti

Elite – ultra setting (4K)

  • OS: Windows 10
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X/Intel Core I7 7700K
  • RAM: 16 GB
  • GPU: AMD Radeon 7/Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080

Ghost Recon Breakpoint closed to open beta improvements

Ubisoft has made a number of fairly significant changes in the time between the end of the Ghost Recon Breakpoint closed beta and the start of the open beta. You can expect better character controls with less inertia when moving, better vault detection, faster weapon swapping and faster stance change.

The developer also made a few balance adjustments to make it easier to kill radio operators before reinforcements are called in, and change it so it takes longer for reinforcements to show up when they are dispatched. Menu interactions in all of the different in-game menus such as at stores, and when picking up intel have been made significantly faster.

The Bivouac now includes a helicopter by default for easier transportation around Breakpoint’s massive map, and all of the items you can buy at the main hub can also be bought at the different Bivouacs.

On top of that, enemy AI should feel smarter and the different classes in their units should all take advantage of their kits (snipers staying back etc.).

The post Ghost Recon Breakpoint open beta kicks off this week with new content – everything you need to know appeared first on VG247.

Author: NOT_BOT

Share This Post On